Your Councillors

Local councillors are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Surgeries provide an opportunity for any ward resident to go and talk to their councillor face to face and these take place on a regular basis.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are published annually.

To find your councillor please use the below links:

Photograph Councillor Political party Ward
photo of Councillor Chris Aldred

Councillor Chris Aldred

15 Wayside Grove, HARROGATE, HG2 8NR

Home: 07554 381932


Liberal Democrats Harrogate Fairfax
photo of Councillor Philip Broadbank

Councillor Philip Broadbank

19 Prospect Close, HARROGATE, HG2 7PR

Home: 01423 888377


Liberal Democrats Harrogate Starbeck
photo of Councillor Nick Brown

Councillor Nick Brown

The Old Vicarage, Cundall, YORK, YO61 2RN

Home mobile: 07775 585661


Conservative Bishop Monkton and Newby
photo of Councillor Rebecca Burnett

Councillor Rebecca Burnett

16 Rosewood Crescent, HARROGATE, HG1 4NL

Home mobile: 07817 897090


Conservative Harrogate St Georges
photo of Councillor Mike Chambers, MBE

Councillor Mike Chambers, MBE

Cabinet Member for Housing and Safer Communities

Kirkdale, Littlethorpe Lane, RIPON, HG4 1UB

Home mobile: 07743 286879


Conservative Ripon Spa
photo of Councillor Trevor Chapman

Councillor Trevor Chapman

10 Bewick Grange, Swan Road, HARROGATE, HG1 2FA

Home: 01423 439783

Home mobile: 07981 550721


Liberal Democrats Harrogate Bilton Grange
photo of Councillor Richard Cooper

Councillor Richard Cooper


Flat 1, 107 East Parade, HARROGATE, HG1 5LR

Home mobile: 07792 655535


Conservative Harrogate Central
photo of Councillor Ed Darling

Councillor Ed Darling

20 Baldersdale Avenue, KNARESBOROUGH, HG5 0HH

Home: 01423 500600


Conservative Knaresborough Castle
photo of Councillor John Ennis

Councillor John Ennis

12 St James Drive, HARROGATE, HG2 8HT

Home mobile: 07702 736803


Conservative Harrogate Stray
photo of Councillor Sam Gibbs

Councillor Sam Gibbs

Cabinet Member for Environment, Waste Reduction and Recycling

18 Ribblehead Road, HARROGATE, HG3 2GW

Home mobile: 07728 761135


Conservative Harrogate Valley Gardens
photo of Councillor Hannah Gostlow

Councillor Hannah Gostlow

6 York Place, Knaresborough, HG5 0AA

Work mobile: 07867 797594


Liberal Democrats Knaresborough Scriven Park
photo of Councillor Sam Green

Councillor Sam Green

c/o Democratic Services, Harrogate Borough Council, PO Box 787, HARROGATE, HG1 9RW

Home mobile: 07748 793487


Conservative Wathvale
photo of Councillor Michael Harrison

Councillor Michael Harrison

18 Sorrel Grove, Killinghall Moor, HARROGATE, HG3 2XE

Home mobile: 01423 536157


Conservative Killinghall and Hampsthwaite
photo of Councillor Paul Haslam

Councillor Paul Haslam

Woodside Farm, Bilton Lane, HARROGATE, HG1 4DH

Home mobile: 07971 654703


Conservative Harrogate Old Bilton
photo of Councillor Sid Hawke

Councillor Sid Hawke

4 Low Mill Estate, RIPON, HG4 1NP

Home: 01765 600836

Home mobile: 07597 238459


Ripon Independents Ripon Ure Bank
photo of Councillor Phil Ireland

Councillor Phil Ireland

Cabinet Member Carbon Reduction and Sustainability

47 Farfield Avenue, KNARESBOROUGH, HG5 8HD

Home: 01423 547414

Home mobile: 07808 295422


Conservative Knaresborough Aspin and Calcutt
photo of Councillor Steven Jackson

Councillor Steven Jackson

151 Arthurs Avenue, HARROGATE, HG2 0EH

Home: 01423 545536

Home mobile: 07876 684550


Conservative Harrogate Saltergate
photo of Councillor Sue Lumby

Councillor Sue Lumby

c/o Democratic Services, Harrogate Borough Council, PO Box 787, HARROGATE, HG1 9RW

Home mobile: 07540 421927


Conservative Harrogate Coppice Valley
photo of Councillor Stanley Lumley

Councillor Stanley Lumley

Cabinet Member for Culture, Tourism and Sport

Lyndene, Bewerley, PATELEY BRIDGE, HG3 5HS

Home: 01423 712036

Home mobile: 07368 212947


Conservative Pateley Bridge and Nidderdale Moors
photo of Councillor John Mann

Councillor John Mann

98 Walton Park, HARROGATE, HG3 1RJ

Home mobile: 07743 578256


Conservative Harrogate Pannal
photo of Councillor Pat Marsh

Councillor Pat Marsh

1 Badger Grove, Badger Hill, KNARESBOROUGH, HG5 8FE

Home: 01423 869709


Liberal Democrats Harrogate Hookstone
photo of Councillor Stuart Martin, MBE

Councillor Stuart Martin, MBE

12 Deep Ghyll Walk, RIPON, HG4 1RL

Home mobile: 07811 390448

Conservative Ripon Moorside
photo of Councillor Pauline McHardy

Councillor Pauline McHardy

1 Lark Hill Close, RIPON, HG4 2HT

Home: 07932 853130


Ripon Independents Ripon Minster
photo of Councillor Nigel Middlemass

Councillor Nigel Middlemass

12 Rosewood Crescent, HARROGATE, HG1 4NL

Home mobile: 07807 852268


Conservative Harrogate Kingsley
photo of Councillor Ann Myatt

Councillor Ann Myatt

Skerry Barn, Wetherby Road, Sicklinghall, WETHERBY, LS22 4AT

Home: 07771 785707


Conservative Ouseburn
photo of Councillor Tim Myatt

Councillor Tim Myatt

Cabinet Member for Planning

14 Regent Street, HARROGATE, HG1 4BE

Home mobile: 07956 043370


Conservative Harrogate High Harrogate
photo of Councillor Victoria Oldham

Councillor Victoria Oldham


Bishopwood Farm, Dob Park, OTLEY, LS21 2NA

Home mobile: 07966 167794


Conservative Washburn
photo of Councillor Andrew Paraskos

Councillor Andrew Paraskos

c/o Democratic Services, Harrogate Borough Council, PO Box 787, HARROGATE, HG1 9RW

Home mobile: 07808 803667


Conservative Spofforth with Lower Wharfedale
photo of Councillor Alex Raubitschek

Councillor Alex Raubitschek

Pen House, 13 Swan Road, HARROGATE, HG1 2SS

Home: 07932 620474


Conservative Harrogate Oatlands
photo of Councillor Matt Scott

Councillor Matt Scott

29 Poplar Grove, HARROGATE, HG1 4PL

Home: 07964 419323


Conservative Harrogate Bilton Woodfield
photo of Councillor Nigel Simms

Councillor Nigel Simms

Elland, Thornborough, Bedale, DL8 2RA

Work: 01765 689177


Conservative Masham and Kirkby Malzeard
photo of Councillor Graham Swift

Councillor Graham Swift

Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Resources, Enterprise and Economic Development

Midway Lodge, 5 Wood View, HARROGATE, HG1 2LQ

Home mobile: 07584 656170


Conservative Harrogate Duchy
photo of Vacant


c/o Democratic Services, Harrogate Borough Council, PO Box 787, HARROGATE, HG1 9RW

Home: 01423 500600

  Fountains and Ripley
photo of Vacant


c/o Democratic Services, Harrogate Borough Council, PO Box 787, HARROGATE, HG1 9RW

Home: 01423 500600

  Harrogate Harlow
photo of Vacant


c/o Democratic Services, Harrogate Borough Council, PO Box 787, HARROGATE, HG1 9RW

Home: 01423 500600

  Marston Moor
photo of Vacant


c/o Democratic Services, Harrogate Borough Council, PO Box 787, HARROGATE, HG1 9RW

Home: 01423 500600

photo of Councillor Tom Watson

Councillor Tom Watson

Ashley House, Dacre Banks, HARROGATE, HG3 4EN

Home: 01423 780840


Liberal Democrats Nidd Valley
photo of Councillor Matthew Webber

Councillor Matthew Webber

1 Burnside Drive, HARROGATE, HG1 2BH

Home: 01423 560378

Home mobile: 07890 472569


Liberal Democrats Harrogate New Park
photo of Councillor Christine Willoughby

Councillor Christine Willoughby

49 Dentdale Drive, KNARESBOROUGH, HG5 0BE

Home: 01423 866987


Liberal Democrats Knaresborough Eastfield
photo of Councillor Robert Windass

Councillor Robert Windass

Deputy Mayor

12 Harness Lane, Boroughbridge, YORK, YO51 9PF

Home: 01423 323928

Home mobile: 07737 886150


Conservative Boroughbridge