Your Councillors

Local councillors are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Surgeries provide an opportunity for any ward resident to go and talk to their councillor face to face and these take place on a regular basis.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are published annually.

To find your councillor please use the below links:

Councillor
Photograph Councillor Political party Ward
photo of Councillor Chris Aldred

Councillor Chris Aldred

15 Wayside Grove, HARROGATE, HG2 8NR

Home: 07554 381932

Home: chris.aldred@harrogate.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Harrogate Fairfax
photo of Councillor Margaret Atkinson

Councillor Margaret Atkinson

Deputy Mayor

Parkfield, Kirkby Malzeard, RIPON, HG4 3RX

Home: 01765 658545

Home: margaret.atkinson@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Fountains and Ripley
photo of Councillor Bernard Bateman, MBE

Councillor Bernard Bateman, MBE

Mayor

Thornsett, 4 The Paddock, MELMERBY, HG4 5HW

Home: 01765 640362

Home: bernard.bateman@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Wathvale
photo of Councillor Philip Broadbank

Councillor Philip Broadbank

19 Prospect Close, HARROGATE, HG2 7PR

Home: 01423 888377

Home: philip.broadbank@harrogate.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Harrogate Starbeck
photo of Councillor Nick Brown

Councillor Nick Brown

The Old Vicarage, Cundall, YORK, YO61 2RN

Home mobile: 07775 585661

Home: nick.brown@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Bishop Monkton and Newby
photo of Councillor Rebecca Burnett

Councillor Rebecca Burnett

Cabinet Member for Planning

4 Belmont Grove, HARROGATE, HG2 7JL

Home mobile: 07817 897090

Home: rebecca.burnett@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Harrogate St Georges
photo of Councillor Mike Chambers, MBE

Councillor Mike Chambers, MBE

Cabinet Member for Housing and Safer Communities

Kirkdale, Littlethorpe Lane, RIPON, HG4 1UB

Home mobile: 07743 286879

Home: mike.chambers@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Ripon Spa
photo of Councillor Trevor Chapman

Councillor Trevor Chapman

10 Bewick Grange, Swan Road, HARROGATE, HG1 2FA

Home: 01423 439783

Home mobile: 07981 550721

Home: trevor.chapman@harrogate.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Harrogate Bilton Grange
photo of Councillor Jim Clark

Councillor Jim Clark

74 Green Lane, HARROGATE, HG2 9LN

Home: 01423 872822

Home: jim.clark@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Harrogate Harlow
photo of Councillor Richard Cooper

Councillor Richard Cooper

Leader

Flat 1, 107 East Parade, HARROGATE, HG1 5LR

Home: 01423 705074

Home mobile: 07792 655535

Home: richard.cooper@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Harrogate Central
photo of Councillor Ed Darling

Councillor Ed Darling

25 Bilsdale Grove, KNARESBOROUGH, HG5 0PX

Home mobile: 07932 782281

Home: edward.darling@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Knaresborough Castle
photo of Councillor John Ennis

Councillor John Ennis

12 St James Drive, HARROGATE, HG2 8HT

Home mobile: 07702 736803

Home: john.ennis@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Harrogate Stray
photo of Councillor Sam Gibbs

Councillor Sam Gibbs

2C Forest Avenue, HARROGATE, HG2 7JJ

Home mobile: 07728 761135

Home: sam.gibbs@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Harrogate Valley Gardens
photo of Councillor Michael Harrison

Councillor Michael Harrison

18 Sorrel Grove, Killinghall Moor, HARROGATE, HG3 2XE

Home mobile: 01423 536157

Home: Michael.harrison@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Killinghall and Hampsthwaite
photo of Councillor Paul Haslam

Councillor Paul Haslam

Woodside Farm, Bilton Lane, HARROGATE, HG1 4DH

Home mobile: 07971 654703

Home: paul.haslam@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Harrogate Old Bilton
photo of Councillor Sid Hawke

Councillor Sid Hawke

4 Low Mill Estate, RIPON, HG4 1NP

Home: 01765 600836

Home mobile: 07597 238459

Home: sid.hawke@harrogate.gov.uk

Ripon Independents Ripon Ure Bank
photo of Councillor Phil Ireland

Councillor Phil Ireland

Cabinet Member for Sustainable Transport

47 Farfield Avenue, KNARESBOROUGH, HG5 8HD

Home: 01423 547414

Home mobile: 07808 295422

Home: phil.ireland@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Knaresborough Aspin and Calcutt
photo of Councillor Steven Jackson

Councillor Steven Jackson

17 Larkspur Grove, HARROGATE, HG3 2YA

Home: 01423 545536

Home mobile: 07876 684550

Home: steven.jackson@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Harrogate Saltergate
photo of Councillor Sue Lumby

Councillor Sue Lumby

c/o Democratic Services, Harrogate Borough Council, St Luke's Avenue, HARROGATE, HG1 2AE

Home mobile: 07540 421927

Home: sue.lumby@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Harrogate Coppice Valley
photo of Councillor Stanley Lumley

Councillor Stanley Lumley

Cabinet Member for Culture, Tourism and Sport

Lyndene, Bewerley, PATELEY BRIDGE, HG3 5HS

Home: 01423 712036

Home mobile: 07368 212947

Home: stanley.lumley@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Pateley Bridge and Nidderdale Moors
photo of Councillor John Mann

Councillor John Mann

98 Walton Park, HARROGATE, HG3 1RJ

Home mobile: 07743 578256

Home: john.mann@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Harrogate Pannal
photo of Councillor Pat Marsh

Councillor Pat Marsh

1 Badger Grove, Badger Hill, KNARESBOROUGH, HG5 8FE

Home: 01423 869709

Home: pat.marsh@harrogate.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Harrogate Hookstone
photo of Councillor Stuart Martin, MBE

Councillor Stuart Martin, MBE

12 Deep Ghyll Walk, RIPON, HG4 1RL

Home: 01765 601218

Home mobile: 07811 390448

Work: stuart.martin@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Ripon Moorside
photo of Councillor Pauline McHardy

Councillor Pauline McHardy

1 Lark Hill Close, RIPON, HG4 2HT

Home: 07932 853130

Home: pauline.mchardy@harrogate.gov.uk

Ripon Independents Ripon Minster
photo of Councillor Samantha Mearns

Councillor Samantha Mearns

Appletrees, Main Street, Scotton, KNARESBOROUGH, HG5 9HY

Home: 07795 015436

Home: samantha.mearns@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Knaresborough Scriven Park
photo of Councillor Zoe Metcalfe

Councillor Zoe Metcalfe

Pear Tree House, The Nookin, Marton cum Grafton, YORK, YO51 9QW

Home: 01423 322223

Home mobile: 07866 385289

Home: zoe.metcalfe@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Claro
photo of Councillor Nigel Middlemass

Councillor Nigel Middlemass

12 Rosewood Crescent, HARROGATE, HG1 4NL

Home mobile: 07807 852268

Home: nigel.middlemass@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Harrogate Kingsley
photo of Councillor Ann Myatt

Councillor Ann Myatt

Skerry Barn, Wetherby Road, Sicklinghall, WETHERBY, LS22 4AT

Home: 07771 785707

Home: ann.myatt@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Ouseburn
photo of Councillor Tim Myatt

Councillor Tim Myatt

14 Regent Street, HARROGATE, HG1 4BE

Home mobile: 07956 043370

Home: tim.myatt@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Harrogate High Harrogate
photo of Councillor Victoria Oldham

Councillor Victoria Oldham

Bishopwood Farm, Dob Park, OTLEY, LS21 2NA

Home mobile: 07966 167794

Home: victoria.oldham@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Washburn
photo of Councillor Andrew Paraskos

Councillor Andrew Paraskos

Cabinet Member for Environment, Waste Reduction and Recycling

16 Castle Street, Spofforth, HARROGATE, HG3 1AP

Home mobile: 07808 803667

Home: andrew.paraskos@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Spofforth with Lower Wharfedale
photo of Councillor Alex Raubitschek

Councillor Alex Raubitschek

Pen House, 13 Swan Road, HARROGATE, HG1 2SS

Home: 07932 620474

Home: alexander.raubitschek@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Harrogate Oatlands
photo of Councillor Matt Scott

Councillor Matt Scott

29 Poplar Grove, HARROGATE, HG1 4PL

Home: 07964 419323

Home: matt.scott@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Harrogate Bilton Woodfield
photo of Councillor Nigel Simms

Councillor Nigel Simms

Green Croft, 25 Leyburn Road, MASHAM, HG4 4ER

Work: 01765 689177

Home: 01765 689784

Home: nigel.simms@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Masham and Kirkby Malzeard
photo of Councillor Graham Swift

Councillor Graham Swift

Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Resources, Enterprise and Economic Development

The Granary, Penny Pot Lane, HARROGATE, HG3 2SA

Home mobile: 07584 656170

Home: graham.swift@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Harrogate Duchy
photo of Councillor Norman Waller

Councillor Norman Waller

Holmsdale, 3 Kendal Gardens, Tockwith, YORK, YO26 7QR

Home: 07985 737009

Home: norman.waller@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Marston Moor
photo of Councillor Tom Watson

Councillor Tom Watson

Ashley House, Dacre Banks, HARROGATE, HG3 4EN

Home: 01423 780840

Home: thomas.watson@harrogate.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Nidd Valley
photo of Councillor Matthew Webber

Councillor Matthew Webber

1 Burnside Drive, HARROGATE, HG1 2BH

Home: 01423 560378

Home mobile: 07890 472569

Home: matthew.webber@harrogate.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Harrogate New Park
photo of Councillor Christine Willoughby

Councillor Christine Willoughby

49 Dentdale Drive, KNARESBOROUGH, HG5 0BE

Home: 01423 866987

Home: christine.willoughby@harrogate.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Knaresborough Eastfield
photo of Councillor Robert Windass

Councillor Robert Windass

12 Harness Lane, Boroughbridge, YORK, YO51 9PF

Home: 01423 323928

Home mobile: 07737 886150

Home: robert.windass@harrogate.gov.uk

Conservative Boroughbridge